THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG TAG

Hello everyone,

I would like to wish everyone a Happy Holiday and a wonderful New Year. One of my amazing ‘sister authors’ at Soul Mate Publishing has tagged me for The Next Big Thing Blog Tour. I’m so excited to share with everyone. But first I wanted to thank JAMIE BRAZIL (yes all caps) for everything she has done to help me along the way. Jamie is not only a wonderful author, but a truly amazing person as are all my sister and brother authors at Soul Mate.

Jamie I have found gets my strange sense of humor and tries to answer all my silly questions, and I am so lucky to count her as one of my fellow sister authors. Please take a moment and visit Jamie at her blog http://jamiebrazil.com/blog/. You won’t be disappointed. And while you are there be sure and say “Hi” and go back often for interesting and fun reading.

Thank you Jamie, as my lovely teen daughters would say, You Rock!

Here are the questions I’m excited to answer and share.

What is the title of your next book?

The title of my book is “Daughter of Phalon” it is the first book in my Phalon series.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

There were a few things that in time blended together to solidify the idea for this particular series. The first of which was an incident that happened to me and my parents when I was, thirteen. Which I blogged about on October 30, here is the link if you would like to know more (http://wp.me/p2vrcQ-9). What happened that night, and still to this date don’t have an explanation for. But because of this experience I was always fascinated with what could be flying around in the night skies.

I didn’t have a set story line until I watched a few documentaries with my husband on the History Channel. I don’t remember the exact titles of these but the one that first piqued my interest was about ancient aliens. It referenced cave paintings, writings from all over the world about ancient encounters, and theories about the Greek and Egyptian gods being actual aliens from other planets. This rekindled the idea but I still didn’t have a complete story line formed. A few weeks later we watched two more documentaries. The first about the lost island of Atlantis, and the myths about what happened to it, and then one on reports of USO’s (Unidentified Submerged Objects). Finally it all snapped into place, awoke my muses, and “Daughter of Phalon” flew from my fingers.

What genre does your book fall under?

Daughter of Phalon is a cross-genre. Because it has to do with an alien race that have lived among us for centuries it falls into the science fiction category, but because of the relationship to humans and psychic powers, it also falls under the paranormal romance genre as well.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

For my hero my choice of actor would be, Hugh Jackman. My heroine I would love to have, Kate Hudson. And, finally,  the villain it would have to be the distinguished, Patrick Stewart.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Kyla’s world is turned upside down when she discovers she was abducted as an infant by a madman. She must now use the psychic abilities she long ago buried in order to not only save her life but the lives of her new-found family.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will be released in January or February 2013 by Soul Mate Publishing. They are wonderful to work with, I am thankful to have found them.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took around three months to write it. Unfortunately, polishing it and getting it ready to send out took much longer. My mom became sick with cancer and I put it away in order to care for her.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I haven’t really thought much about it. I have had other authors who have read it say it is similar to the style Sherrilyn Kenyon and Rhyannon Byrd write. Which, was a great complement to be compared to those two great writers

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My parents were always such great supporters of my love of writing. They told me throughout my childhood to always follow my dreams. My husband is another great support system. I would have to say without the three of them and their undying faith in my ability to weave a believable story; I would have given up long ago.

What else about your book might pique the reader interest?

I try to give each character their own personality, and with that are their insecurities and faults that readers will hopefully connect with. I think my characters are fun, with witty banter. For my Phalon series, I’ve combined myths and legends and a few hard truths about using up our planets resources.

Ok now it is my turn to tag. I have chosen to tag Steven Mitchell, my brother author, and a wonderful writer. Tag Steven, you’re it! Please be sure to follow his links listed below and watch for his TNBT post. It will be well worth your time.

Steve Mitchell
http://scmitchell.wordpress.com/
http://www.facebook.com/AuthorSCMitchell
Now on Twitter @authorsmitchell

I would also like to tag Joceline Farrah, another great author. Please stop by say “Hi” and read her musing, at http://jocelinefarrah.wordpress.com/musing/. Can’t wait to find out more about Joceline Farrah. Have fun.

By Connie Rhinehart

3 comments on “THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG TAG

    • Hi Jamie,

      I hate waiting. I’m so excited for Daughter of Phalon to come out. As to how many in the series, well I have 6 of my Enforcers story lines running around in my head. If fact it is getting a little crowded in there. But it could easily turn in to 10. That is the wonderful thing with my story line. There are so many ways it can twist and turn and spread into new directions. And my muses take full advantage of that, they love to throw the story line I’m going with and toss it in the trash and then switch everything around and lead me in a new direction. LOL But of course that is the thing I love must, even I don’t know how the next story will end.

Leave a Reply

